Bed Rest At 22 Weeks

When I found out I was pregnant I was rather aware that the chances of me having a ‘normal’ pregnancy were slim. The simple fact that I would need to come off all of my medication was knowledge enough of that, with only a few of them being prescribed for any emergency situations that may arise.

The first half of my pregnancy went smoother than I could ever have expected with the exception of a few hospital admittance’s. At each midwifes appointment she exclaimed how pleased she was with the way I was progressing. After 4 months of this, I even started to dare to wonder if just maybe I could get through the whole 9 months like this.

Now of course life is not simple, so now at 22 weeks and 6 days I am on prescribed bed rest, using a wheelchair on Drs orders, and passing out several times a day. Seeing it written down like that it does seem a bit daunting, but the reality is that this is still more ‘normal’ than I could have ever hoped for. I had had nightmares of being admitted to hospital for the whole 9 months, on a feeding tube with agonising spasms. This was an extremely real possibility for me, so the fact that that scenario hasn’t materialised, touch wood, feels like a miracle.

As much as I am no fan of morning sickness and passing out, seeing our little boy on the screen wriggling around and making it difficult for the sonographer makes me smile. Due to my complications, we’ve already had 5 scans and have another 2 at least coming up. Watching him develop and feeling him move around wipes away all the concerns I have for my own health; I would happily spend months in hospital if it came to it, as at the end of the day he’s our little miracle and I cannot wait to finally meet him.

20170112_183431

Leave a Reply

